life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

What a GIFT we have June 3, 2011

Filed under: Life on the Jay train,Uncategorized — the jay train @ 12:16 pm
Tags: ,

This Sunday, my family and I will be participating in our 1st walk to support Autism Speaks.  I have been blown away by the response I’ve gotten from my co-workers, family and friends.  Because of the wonderful people I have in my life, I was able to raise over $1000 and there’s still 2 days left.  I thought I was being bold by setting a goal of $500.  I don’t know if everyone will understand how much this means to me and how much it touches me that they would help support a cause all because of my son. 

A couple of months ago, a cousin of mine lost a baby.  He was still-born at 9 months.  My heart broke for her.  It just should never happen to anyone.  This morning I got news that my co-workers wife had a full term, still-born baby.  My heart is again breaking.  This is America and it’s 2011.  This shouldn’t happen. 

How fortunate I am to have a baby to fight with doctors and schools for. 

How fortunate I am to have a baby to play with and to teach things to. 

How fortunate I am to have a baby to advocate for and to walk and raise funds for. 

How fortunate we all are who have babies no matter the circumstances.

On Sunday, as we make our mile and a half walk, I will be thinking about all the effort we have put into helping my son live his life to the fullest.  I will think about how much our lives changed and how consumed I have been by Autism ever since the Doctor said the words.  I will look around at all the other families who are going through very similar but also very different experiences  from my own.  I will feel connected to them.  I will look at all the parents who are doing everything they can to promote awareness and to get better healthcare coverage and to provide a better quality of life for their children.  I will look at all the children who are able to be there “walking” for their own needs.  (Whether they are actually walking, or being strolled around or if they’re on their parents shoulders).  I will look at the siblings whose lives are also affected and who are often forced to be braver, stronger and more mature than they really should be asked to be.  I will be thankful that aunts, uncles, grandparents, sisters, co-workers, friends, neighbours, cousins, in-laws and everyone in between showed up just to show support.  I will look at everyone there with loving eyes, a smile on my face and a joyful heart.  I will think about what a gift all our children are

…..

I hope you have a happy and blessed weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

