Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Shoes July 15, 2011

Filed under: Life on the Jay train — The B Side @ 9:59 am
Tags:

The other day I bought a cute pair of brown sandals for Ace.  They were $8.  I knew CC wouldn’t be happy with me buying more shoes even if they’re $8 and they’re not for me this time.  I casually left them on the floor of the car and hoped he wouldn’t notice them or notice that they were new.  🙂

Typically, in the morning, I pick out the kids outfits (shoes included) and while I get Jay ready, Ace gets himself dressed no problem.  There are rare exceptions when Ace chooses to be whiney and difficult because he sees Jay getting attention for being whiney and difficult.  I know he’s only 4 but I have very little tolerance for those exceptions.  The last thing I need is 2 whiney and difficult kids 1st thing in the morning. 

The day after I brought home the new cheap-and-very-versatile-shoes-that-I-can-hand-down-to-Jay-for-additional-use, they made their debut.  I’m a fan of wearing/using new things as soon as I get them.  Islanders would call me a “neva see, come see“.  I don’t leave certain things for when we have company or put up my “good stuff” for special occasions.  I’m just not that kinda girl. 

So anyway, that morning I started the day with the usual routine. 

Me:  Ace, here are your clothes.  Please get dressed quickly so we can go.

Ace:  (About 3 minutes later) I can’t put my shoes on.

Me:  Put your shoes on and let’s go.  I don’t have time for this today.

Ace:  Can you help me?  I can’t put my shoes on.

Me:  (Getting irritated fast)  You CAN put your shoes on.  Now hurry up before you make me late.

Ace:  I can’t put my shoes on.

Me:  Fine, I guess you will be going to school with no shoes today.  Let’s go. 

Ace:  (Sounding like he’s on the verge of tears)  But look, there’s something wrong with my shoes.

 

I walk over and low and behold, there’s 2 left feet.  Duh!

 

Me:  You’re right.  There is something wrong.  I’m sorry baby.  I’ll get you another pair.

Ace:  (With much hand movement and emphasis on his words)  That’s what I was trying to tell you but you don’t listen to me!  (Sigh)

Oops. 

Later that day I returned the 2 left feet and got my $8 back.  I guess that’s what I get for trying to be sneaky.  OK universe, I hear you.  Lesson learned. 

 

 

2 Responses to “Shoes”

  1. Dre Says:

    LMAO!

    “The lesson is to LISTEN…”

  2. Luna Says:

    lmao…classic!


Leave a Reply

