Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Good Luck in the Bad Luck October 10, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — The B Side @ 4:42 pm
Tags: , , ,

I got a bit of bad news today.  Everyone is fine, and in the grand scheme of life it’s not so bad but right now, today, it’s pretty sucky.  What do people say?  When it rains it pours?  Well, I have an umbrella and a rain coat and I’m still getting wet.   

Normally, I would whine, and complain but I’m tired of doing that – plus, I have found that whining and complaining doesn’t change anything – which in itself sucks because I’m good at that.   

The other thing I have found, is that while I still think I am unlucky, maybe there is a drop of good luck mixed in.  It’s probably the universes way of keeping me from going completely postal.  I haven’t found the good luck side of Jay’s dental issues yet.  That one’s found a really good hiding place.  (By the way, I’m also good at hide and seek.  You should hire me to play with your kids.  Just saying.)  I also haven’t found the good luck side to todays issue yet but here’s what I’ve come up with for my other recent bad luck hits. 

 

Last weekend I got sick and spent most of the weekend feeling like crap – Bad luck

I had no plans for that weekend anyway – Good luck

 

Last weekend, the car left us stranded – Bad luck

We were only 10 minutes from home and were able to pull over to a safe place to wait for the tow truck – Good luck

 

All last week we had no car – Bad luck

I have a co-worker who lives in my town and a neighbor who works from home so they both helped me get back and forth to work and helped Ace get back and forth to school – VERY Good luck

 

On Friday, I found out the problem with the car was not covered by warranty and I had to pay $482.57 to get the car back – Bad luck

I happened to have the $482.57 to pay – Good luck

 

Yesterday the car wouldn’t start and I was 2 hrs from home  – Bad luck

I was 2 hrs from home because I had spent the weekend with a dear friend of mine and we had a great weekend and I have jumper cables in my trunk and despite hitting some traffic, I made it home before dark – Good luck

 

This morning again the car wouldn’t start – Bad luck

I was able to call on the same neighbour who keeps coming to my rescue and my job is lenient/understanding about me getting in late.  – Good luck

 

 

In time I’ll probably be able to find the missing “good sides” but, come on … Can I catch a break PLEASE?!  Can I have more than 2 days go by without something going wrong?!  Huh, can I?!?

 

2 Responses to “Good Luck in the Bad Luck”

  1. Grace Says:

    I get really, really stabby when things do not go smoothly. Consequently, I’m almost always stabby. It appears from your post, though, that you have not stabbed anyone, so that’s a good thing. (Good luck?)

    I really hope things start to turn around for you soon. And for what it’s worth, you’re not alone. I’ve been feeling like I’ve been walking around with a black cloud over my head lately, too. This, too, shall pass!! (Right?)


Leave a Reply

