Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Report cards December 1, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — The B Side @ 10:55 am
Tags: , , ,

My kindergartener failed math. 

 I found out last week and I was just gonna act like it didn’t happen but I’m not in the business of hiding anything here so yup, he did well in science, reading, computers, art, gym and social studies but he failed math.  He can recite numbers from 1 to 100 but it turns out he has a hard time recognizing them visually especially if they are out of order.  Also, he can count by 10’s which I didn’t know he could do and was totally impressed by but he also should be counting by 2’s apparently.

 I don’t remember doing all that in reception (what we called kindergarten).   If I’m not mistaken, we were meeting expectations if we didn’t eat the crayons but hey … if that’s the schools expectations then we’ll have to work on it … and pronto. 

 The teacher actually said … “this is not to worry you since I’m sure he’ll be fine by June, but just so you know, the kids have to test out of kindergarten and into 1st grade, so if he’s still failing at that time, he will have to repeat this class.”

Oh ok … sure … I’m not worried at all.  NOT!!!!!!

The end comments from his teacher were pretty good.  She said he is a delight to have in the class and she has already seen a huge improvement in his ability to “control his body” since the start of the year.  (That’s “teacher-speak” for he isn’t talking out of turn or getting up when he should be sitting down or rolling around on the floor as much as he was in September.)

 …..

Yesterday I picked up Jay’s report and while his teacher told me that he’s doing much better this year than he was last year, as far as his actual report card is concerned, I don’t have a freakin’ clue what is going on.  First of all, I found out that they have been without a speech therapist for 2 months and nobody thought it was important to let us parents know.  Thank God he gets private speech therapy.  Second of all, his report card is in a language WAY worse than “teacher-speak”.  It’s in “statistician-speak”.  It talks about percentages and means and standard deviations. 

What does that mean to me, his mom?

I want to know …

– In what areas has he improved and why?  (What worked?)

– In what areas has he remained stagnant and how can we jump start him?

– In what areas is he seriously struggling and how can we help?

Is that too much to ask? 

 

Stupid friggin report cards.  I was really looking forward to seeing them but all they did was stress me out.

Later today we take Jay for his follow up visit with his neurologist. I’m hoping I’ll have something good to report tomorrow.

 

6 Responses to “Report cards”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I can’t believe that in Kindergarten they get graded for different subjects? Isn’t that for high school? I’m all for feedback and something in writing from the teacher about the kids progress but this sounds ridiculous? Also very shocking that the school didn’t inform you about the lack of speech therapy, I’d be really mad. Grr!

  2. Yeah they do. I will say that I don’t think that’s “normal” but we chose this school because of their high expectations and their good results in the past. We knew it would be a lot of work for both Ace and us. I am very mad about the lack of a speech therapist but I’m taking it in stride. Overall, Jay is happy at school and loves his teacher and she has taken an extra special liking to him so that counts for a lot.

  3. rhemashope Says:

    yeah, that’s crazy about them not informing you about the speech therapist (or lack thereof)! it seems like both the boys have good teachers, and as you say, that means a lot.

  4. […] you’ve been here since December then you know THIS already.  If you’ve been here since October, then you know THIS […]

  5. solodialogue Says:

    Well, that’s a very different take from mine, isn’t it? Again, I feel very lucky and blessed to have a full time ABA tutor in class with my son every day. I can ask and get a report directly from that tutor as to what is happening or not happening for my son and work to get it corrected within a few weeks (theoretically anyway). Not knowing the school’s speech therapist was AWOL for 2 months? That’s inappropriate to say the least! How terrible of them! I hope things are going much smoother now. (and I had to laugh about the crayons- I’m pretty sure that was the standard for me too!)

  6. […] it was a maturity issue.  He is after all the youngest child in the class so maybe he just needed a few weeks to settle in and learn the right classroom behaviour from the older kids.  That hasn’t happened.  I […]


Leave a Reply

