Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

2 Seconds to Comfort December 12, 2011

Filed under: Life on the Jay train — The B Side @ 9:48 am
Tags: , ,

Jay has this thing he does.  He brings something to CC or I and holds it up to our face and it’s our job to tell him the name of it or what color it is.

It’s always objects that he already knows.  He’s not trying to learn anything when he does this.  Sometimes it’s a Thomas toy, sometimes a block with a picture of an animal, sometimes it’s a fridge magnet. 

There are times he will hold the item up and ask “who?” or “what is it?” but mostly he expects you to know what to do.  Sometimes we get it wrong on the 1st try.  He’ll bring a toy dog and we’ll say “doggie”.  He won’t move.  He just stands there holding it in our face.  Then we say “puppy” and he smiles and runs away.  That’s what he needed to hear.  OK. 

This could happen at any time.  During dinner, while watching TV, driving in the car … doesn’t matter.  It’s whenever he feels like hearing you say the word. 

We don’t mind.  I assume he likes the predictability of this “game”.  It calms him.  It gives him a sense of order and control and it takes all of 2 seconds.

 

This has been going on for a while and he only ever did it to CC or myself that I’m aware of. 

Recently, however, he’s started doing it to Ace as well.

Really, I don’t know what that means.

I don’t know IF it means anything at all.

But I like it.

It’s good enough for me that he’s including Ace.  I like that Jay sees Ace as a “go-to” person when he needs comfort. 

I like that Ace plays along with his brothers “weirdness” so easily.  It never seems like he’s being bothered.  He never seems annoyed.  He never asks “why?”.  He watches TV or plays on the computer, or builds train tracks … looks up when Jay approaches him, says the required word and goes back to doing what he was doing before. 

 

Jay runs away happy and I look at my 2 boys and fall in love over and over with them.

 

2 Responses to “2 Seconds to Comfort”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I love that! It’s more and more like that here too with Laila and Max, she plays along with his games, he makes her giggle when she’s in the middle of a strop and the tiny moments when they actually play together are priceless! xxx

  2. “We don’t mind. I assume he likes the predictability of this “game”. It calms him. It gives him a sense of order and control and it takes all of 2 seconds.”
    My Gina likes to hold my nose when she feels tired, upset, shy, goofy, whatever. It’s silly, but it makes her calm. It gets on my husband’s nerves at times, but if that’s all it takes to make her happy, I’m all for it. 😉


Leave a Reply

