life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

Wait February 7, 2012

Filed under: Life on the Jay train — the jay train @ 9:56 am
Tags: , ,

7:15 am.  We should be just about ready to head out the door.  We should be putting on jackets and hats and book bags.  I’m ready.  Ace is ready.  CC is (almost) ready but Jay is not in my line of sight.  I call for him.  “Come on Jay, let’s go.”  And then I hear it.  Clear and with conviction.

 

WAIT

 

CC calls him again a minute later.  “Jay, come on“.  Again it comes … “Wait“.

 

He’s in his room looking for a specific toy to bring to school.  After he finds it, he comes running, puts on his jacket and we all head out 15 minutes late.

 

An outsider hearing him say that may think he’s being rude.  How dare he tell them to wait like that?  Who does he think he is?  They let him get away with that?  I would never let my kids talk to me that way. 

 

That 1 little word.  So small.  Just one syllable.  But to us, it means SO much.  It’s so worth running late for.  It was so hard won.

I don’t take ANY WORD that my son says for granted.

That one word sounded like a miracle to my ears.

 

3 Responses to “Wait”

  1. Author Shauna Says:

    I love this. I know exactly what you mean. My Ariel didn’t really started forming proper sentences until she was 5. Now she won’t shut up. She still has Autism, but it doesn’t have her. 🙂

  2. rhemashope Says:

    yes, yes, yes! i so get this. my little one has also been saying “Wait.” she repeats it over and over when we tell her she has to wait for something. music to our ears!

  3. Deb Says:

    Yes, yes, I get this, too! It’s so impossible to ignore those tiny milestones when you’ve been waiting for them for so long. I will never forget the first time my son called “Mom?!” from the other room….these moments are so precious…


Leave a Reply

