Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Graduations and Evaluations and Vacations June 26, 2012

I’m in no mood to write today.  I have things to say, but my mind is having a hard time staying focused on it.  You see, we’re going on vacation.  A real vacation.  To the Caribbean.  All 4 of us.  It’ll be the 1st time in over 2 years that we’ve been able to swing it.  I’m really in need of a break and I am longing to see my family and I love spending time with my 3 guys doing fun stuff.  We all love getting away and my 2 little ones travel very well so I’m not (too) worried about the flight etc.  If anything does happen, I’ll be sure to blog about it so in terms of getting from point A to point B … no news from me is good news.

 

OK so, onto the stuff that I need to tell you.

Ace had his kindergarten graduation last Friday.  I was very nervous about how it would go.  His teachers had done a good job of worrying me and causing me to expect the worst.  As it turns out, he was an angel.  He behaved better than most of the other parents.  (That could be a post all on it’s own)  I mean really, what adult thinks it’s a good idea to talk through an entire graduation?  Or to send their child to stand in the middle of the aisle to take pictures just as other people’s kids are coming in?  Or standing up during the entire award part of the ceremony so that no-one else can see their kid?  … How about the teachers call conferences to discuss THAT behaviour?

But I digress …

My Acey, got award for outstanding achievement in Computer Science.  I didn’t know they were going to be giving out special awards so that was a nice surprise.  While I would’ve been shocked if he had gotten an award for “best listener”, I wasn’t too surprised that he got a “computer science” one.  He often tells me that computers is his favourite class.  (Followed closely by science)

 

I was so proud of him.

He walked in calmly and with his hands clasped in front of him … like he was supposed to.

He sat in the front row and didn’t talk … unlike the adults in attendance.

He faced the flag and put his hand over his heart and said the pledge of allegiance … like he has practiced doing.

He sang his songs and said his poem and collected his “diploma” and smiled at us … all perfectly.

All in all, no matter what may or may not have went down during rehearsal, when the time came, he rose to the challenge.

 

The other bit of news I have is that Jay’s Social Skills Group evaluation went well.  He was a little bit more hyper than he tends to be at home but it was a very stimulating environment.  Lots of fun things to climb on and jump on and touch and throw and there was a ball pit and a few swings.

An OT person will do a couple of one-on-one sessions with him starting in July and then he will transition into a group of 4 of 5 kids by August.

The feeling I got from everyone there is that they very much love their jobs and love the children they work with.  They appear to focus on the possibilities and pushing the envelope and expanding the boundaries of the children rather than focusing on the deficits and limitations.  They won’t make his life comfortable and they will challenge him, but they will make the work as much fun as possible.  Just as CC and I do, they believe in his potential and will have high expectations of him.  I’m excited to see how it goes.

 

So that’s about it folks.

 

Last week I was in a funk and I literally prayed to God to “let something good happen“.  I think the prayer worked.

 

Ace’s graduation was awesome.  Jay is all set to start learning some social skills and making some friends.  Jay spontaneously told Ace to “be quiet” yesterday when Ace was being his usual chatter box self and today Jay told CC “thank you” (without prompting) in response to getting a snack.  The camera is charged, work is on hold, pets have been situated and we’re all packed and ready to begin our holiday.

 

See ya when we get back.

One love!

 

5 Responses to “Graduations and Evaluations and Vacations”

  1. solodialogue Says:

    Have a wonderful trip & congrats to the new graduate! Can’t wait to hear more about the social skills class! 🙂

  2. Ann Kilter Says:

    Have fun on your vacation. Everyone needs a break, plus your kids get those extended family memories.

  3. Brinabird Says:

    Have a SUPER time at home and make sure to take lots of photos! Your boys always stand up to the challenge and that is because you guys are such great parents! Much love xoxo

  4. I hope you have a fantastic vacation.

  5. Sara Says:

    This post put a HUGE smile on my face! Both for the good news about graduation and the social skills group…and for your trip! How exciting! I hope you guys have a blast. Please take and post pictures!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

