life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

I Want Eat August 7, 2012

Over the past 4 months or so Jay’s verbal communication has really taken off.  Ironically, the more words that he says and the more desires that he expresses and the more concern he shows the more speechless I become and the less competent I feel to put into words how much this development means to us.  I don’t know if this post will do it justice.

 

I know if an outsider were to read this they would think I had lost my marbles.  They would still see where he is deficient because he still is not communicating in the way a typical 4 year old would.  But I don’t care about what an outsider thinks.

 

My son now tells us when he is hungry.

I want eat

He will then tell us exactly what he wants to eat.

I want oh hos, please.” (cheese doodles) or “I want cerud bar please.” (Cereal bar) or “Can I get juice please?”.

 

My son will answer “yes” or “no” to a question.

 

My son invites me to come and play with him.

Come on Mummy

(He totally has me wrapped around his finger and I can never say no to him when he calls for me)

 

My son rushes us when he thinks we’re not moving fast enough.  (Whether it’s to go somewhere or to give him something)

Hurry up Daddy

 

When we’re outside and Ace runs ahead of us (as he always does), Jay scolds him.

Hey, get back here

 

My son has good manners.  He says please and (what he thinks is) thank you although it sounds a heck of a lot like “f*ck you“.  We’re working on his pronunciation but for now we’ll take what we can get.

 

On the weekends when I’m trying to sleep in, Jay will climb up in the bed and say “Wake up Mummy“.  How could I not?

 

My son will ask us “What’s that?” and point at something he’s not familiar with.

 

When I get home from work my son greets me at the door with “What’s up?”

 

Most recently, CC yelled at Ace so he started to cry.  Jay came over to him and said “What’s wrong Ace?”  Then he put his face really close to Ace’s face and waited for an answer.

 

Jay was messing with the cat (again) and the cat gave him a little scratch.  Jay started to cry and when CC (who didn’t see the incident) asked what was wrong Jay said “Cat cross“.  Jay then proceeded to pull the cats tail.  *sigh*

 

 

All his talking has made such a huge difference in our lives.  As I said before, I’m at loss as to how to describe it.  Things are just … Easier.  Warmer.  Happier.  Better.

 

The blossoming we’ve seen this summer hasn’t been all verbal.  We’ve seen Jay grow in a number of ways.

 

He spends a lot more time playing with us or with Ace than he does by himself.    The 2 of them are always running or jumping together.  They sit on the same bed and watch the same things on the i-pad while the other tablet sits on a table unused.  (As long as they each have their own sheet).  Jay seems more interested in his surroundings.  He watches what other people are doing and joins in.  At a BBQ last weekend he ran up and down a hill and rolled around in the grass with all the other kids.  He even jumped into a fight to defend Ace when some of the boys started fighting.  Seriously!  He literally jumped on the back of a boy he thought was hurting Ace.  They were actually just playing Power Rangers.

I could list so many examples but this is just as good a place to stop as any.

 

I’m just so proud of my little man.  We’ll keep working with him and loving him but even if he never learns another word … where we are right now will feel like a gift since we never knew if we would get here.

 

I’m overcome with gratefulness for what we have and I’m in awe of my children.

 

5 Responses to “I Want Eat”

  1. solodialogue Says:

    I understand what you mean about not doing justice to this kind of progress! The way we feel inside when our kids make steps like this are hard to understand unless you are like us looking from the inside out. And from where I’m looking this is a huge “YAY!” I too, have been rendered speechless when Tootles gives me a full complete sentence. It’s like – hey – he finally talks clearly and on topic and I don’t know what to say! Lol! It’s a great feeling. Glad to hear about all that progress! 🙂

  2. Lisa Says:

    I’m doing a happy dance for you!! What amazing progress. I remember how ecstatic we were when Tate started using more functional speech. It is difficult to put it into the right words….but I get this. So happy to hear about his strides!!

  3. Brinabird Says:

    Even an outsider must see how fantastic this is for you guys! I like the idea that things are warmer because of it. It is so hard to put things in words to do them justice but I am sure the fact that he has you wrapped around his little finger is enough for Jay to know how impressed you guys are! Lol xoxo

  4. May your baby continue to have many, many more victories! Celebrate every one of them.

  5. Cyn Says:

    My eyes are glistening because I know how HUGE this is and I am so happy for you and your family. I don’t think that folks realize how huge it is when you have a child that is non-verbal and then they can start communicating their needs and advocating for themselves in a clear way. EVERYTHING changes….”Things are just … Easier. Warmer. Happier. Better.” is so much how it feels. I love how Jay is being more social too. It is true….we never know when we get the diagnosis what and how we’ll move forward because hope is hard to cling too. Savouring these moments is tantalizing and wonderful. Congratulations 🙂


Leave a Reply

