life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

DONKEY! September 12, 2012

Filed under: Life on the Jay train — the jay train @ 12:22 pm
Tags: ,

I can’t remember where we were coming from.  That’s irrelevant to the story really.

What you need to know is that we had just parked the car and were getting out.  Since Jay no longer wants or needs assistance exiting the car, I was standing a couple feet away when he jumped out onto the side walk.  CC was unloading things from the trunk (I think).  Ace was still inside the car.

 
So far, everything was totally ordinary.

 

I didn’t notice them, but a couple had walked past us.

Jay runs to them.  Stops in front of the man.  Points at him and says “DONKEY!”

 

Ahm … what?

 

DONKEY!”  he says again.

The man has no idea what to do or say and who could blame him.  I doubt if this happens to him everyday.

The couple smile and attempt to keep walking.

DONKEY!”

I make my move towards them and the man turns around to face me.  That’s when I see it.  There’s a picture of a donkey on his T-Shirt.

Ahh, now I get it.

I smile at the couple and remind the gentleman that there’s a donkey on his shirt and I think I say that Jay likes animals but I’m not sure if I did and even if I did I’m not sure the couple heard me.  They chuckled and went on their merry little way.

 

I know Jay loves animals and likes to point them out when he sees them but yeah … We definitely need to work on some social skills.

🙂

 

3 Responses to “DONKEY!”

  1. Thanks for the smile 🙂

  2. solodialogue Says:

    Hey! If you can’t take being called out on it, don’t wear the shirt! Toots will walk up to strangers, minus any distinguishing draws like a donkey and say to me, “Who’s that?” pointing within inches of them… When you figure out how to deal with these encounters, please share. 😉

  3. rhemashope Says:

    That’s great!!! Love it!


Leave a Reply

