life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

New Hat October 3, 2012

Like everyone else, I wear many hats.  From mom, to wife to co-worker to sister and friend.  I’m busy and I’m tired.  I complain a lot about being busy and tired.  Most of my schedule revolves around my children.  I believe in being active and involved in their lives.  I believe in giving them time and attention.  I believe that good childhoods are built from family activities like apple picking and going to the movies and bedtime stories and lego building.  I believe children should take part in neighbourhood activities like boy scouts and sports and participating in fund-raiser bake sales and charity events.  I believe my children benefit from all the time we spend with extended family on the weekends even though we have to drive several hours to get to any.  There’s no slacking off on home work or chores.  Yes, I check (or help as needed) every single night.  I think if your child is sick you take them to the doctor and if your child needs therapy you take them – every single week – even if it’s only Tuesday but it’s already been a long week and it’s raining and you’d rather be curled up on the couch.  I  am a member of the PTA and I am in constant communication with my children’s teachers.

Yes, I’m busy.

 

I was taught that if you want something to change you need to jump in the mix instead of waiting for someone else to make that change happen.

On my Grandma’s head stone it reads “She lead by example.”  It’s so true.  She never turned down the chance to make the world a better place because the job was too dirty or she was “too good” or she was tired or there wasn’t enough money or she didn’t know how.

 

I say all that to say … A couple of weeks ago, I nominated myself to be the special needs parent representative on our districts school board.
I found out today that I got the job!

 

I will attend monthly meetings.  I will communicate back to the schools and other parents about what is happening.  I will make suggestions to the board and fight for what our children need. There will be a good amount of paperwork involved and I’ll need to invest a lot of time if I’m going to make any real difference.

I’m super nervous as I’m not very outspoken by nature.  However, over the last couple of years, I have seen a lot of things that need to be improved where special needs are concerned in our school district.  I cannot stand by and not try to make things better.  It’s too important.

 

Wish me luck.

 

 

 

9 Responses to “New Hat”

  1. brinabird Says:

    Good luck. I really hope you can make that difference that you want to. You are certainly very qualified for the job. You really are an amazing mum and it shines through in your posts. Just take that with u to the next meeting.

  2. Life and Ink Says:

    I wish you luck. You will do well because your heart is in it and you will find you have a voice. How fabulous your school board has such a position! Wow. Now I have a suggestion for our board!

    You go girl! 🙂

  3. Lisa Says:

    All kinds of awesome! You will be a tremendous asset! Best of luck to you in this new adventure!!!

  4. Kelly Says:

    Good luck. Having been there I can tell you it is a big time and energy commitment and more often than not it is thankless. However you are driven for the right reasons and I am sure you will do a great job.

  5. Luna Says:

    wow!! congrats and a million times good luck! your grandmother would surely be proud.

  6. cathmae Says:

    I’m so happy for all the kids and families in your school district! You’re going to be great!

  7. Mike Says:

    Super Mum. Yes your grandma would be so proud. We are as well of course.

  8. Neil N Says:

    Good for you! I’m sure you’ll do great.

  9. Michelle Says:

    fantastic, well done you xxx


Leave a Reply

