life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

Now It’s The Day After Christmas December 26, 2012

For us, the celebrations started on Christmas Eve.  While listening to Christmas music, I cleaned and cooked for most of the day and then we had people over.  My sister and her boyfriend, CC’s brothers and a couple of our neighbour friends. That, to me, is a huge part of what makes Christmas so special.  The food, the drinks, the company, the talking and laughing, the music.  It’s what we did when I was a kid.  It’s what makes my heart feel warm.  Some of those people stayed until 3 am (Or so I hear.  I was asleep by then).  Two of the people spent the entire night and I was glad for that.  They were CC’s brothers and I was happy to have them with us on Christmas morning to witness the gift opening excitement.

And boy was there excitement!  As soon as Ace woke up, all he could think about was opening presents.  We didn’t let him suffer too long and were in the midst of gift opening by 8am.  Maybe even 7:30.  I forget.

 

It doesn’t need to be said that Ace LOVED every minute of Christmas.  He would tell  me last night as he kissed me good night, “Mom, I had a great day. It was so exciting. I love everything about Christmas.”  He even went to sleep in the Captain America costume that he received from his Uncles.  There are no words to explain how happy that made me.  That’s what I want my boys to feel.

I can’t say what Jay felt.  What I can say is that he spent about 75% of the weekend angry and crying.  Not fun for anyone.  He’s getting over being sick.  His schedule has been interrupted.  He doesn’t like all the activity.  Who knows what the reason is.  He didn’t want to eat.  He didn’t even want to open presents.  Ace ended up opening all but 2 or 3 of Jay’s.  Once they were unwrapped, Jay did like the Hess helicopter and the Leap Pad that he asked for.  He also liked a big stuffed dog and some animal Legos that he got.

 

I spent my weekend trying to focus on the good things like Ace’s enthusiasm and managed to muster up an extra dose of patience for Jay. I said whatever he wanted me to say and I hugged him and I asked Ace to give him some extra space.  I was too sad for him to be mad at or frustrated with him.  Even if he’s not participating in our lives the way I would want him to, that wouldn’t matter, if he was happy.  He wasn’t happy.

 

At one point I was washing dishes and I had a thought that when I was done I would call my Aunt and Grandad in Jamaica.  Then I began to cry.  I thought of calling my Grandads wife but couldn’t bring myself to do it.  I did call my Aunt and that felt good.

 

I had a good nights sleep last night and now it’s back to work today.  It’s a new day and a new chance for both my sons to be happy.

 

Overall, it was a good Christmas weekend.  This year, mostly I have my Ace to thank for that.  He’s loud and clumsy and he’s a delight and he unabashedly shows his love and still believes in Santa and wants to be a super hero and I really adore him and I enjoy seeing the world through his lens.

 

2 Responses to “Now It’s The Day After Christmas”

  1. Deb Says:

    Awww, I’m sorry it was a little rough. My son was really hyper…and preferred his old things to new toys. I keep waiting for that year that he’s really excited about Christmas. Hasn’t happened yet (think he’s about the same age as Jay). I know most of all you just want him to be happy. Hope he feels back on track soon once all the excitement dies down….

  2. Lisa Says:

    Your boys really remind me of my own. This sounds like our Christmases. This year, Tate was able to get more excited about Christmas, because he finally has experience to rely on and remember. Jay will get there, too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

