Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

He Read, He Chose, He Coloured January 28, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — The B Side @ 11:11 am
Tags: , ,

This weekend was pretty quiet.  Every so often I would think about my lil old blog and wonder if there was anything I could scrape together to make a post.  There was the time Jay stopped playing and randomly came over and gave me a kiss on the lips and then went back to his game.  He did that three times in a row.  There was the time that Ace decided he wanted to lay down on the living room floor with a blanket and a pillow and then Jay come running in with a blanket and a pillow and made himself a bed on the floor too – just like his big brother.  I did take the 2 kids to the park by myself.  It was cold, snow was still on the ground and not surprisingly, we were the only ones there.  We played tag and we swung on the swings and we they rolled down a hill.  Jay is now – most of the time without prompting – saying “thanks [insert name]” after someone gives him something or helps him in some way.   I’m sure there’s a beautiful post in there somewhere but I’m not a skilled enough writer to make it so.

 

Then, at about 6 pm last night, CC sat down with Jay to do his homework. 

That’s when it happened.  My something new.  My thing that I had never seen before and that I can write about. 

Jay’s homework was to colour pictures of hats based on their label.  CC set himself up to help Jay when, voila!, Jay did them all by himself.  He READ the words below the pictures.  He CHOSE the correct crayon and he COLOURED the hats correctly. 

Every. Single. One. 

By himself. 

Image

Jay is going to get his big “going to kindergarten” evaluation in a couple weeks.  He hasn’t had one this comprehensive in 3 years.  Three years ago, he couldn’t do ANY of the academic things they put in front of him.  Not ANY.  Three years ago, the evaluation was hard – for me.  I know Jay is not where other 5 year olds are, but that’s ok with me.  I have stopped measuring him by that stick.  Now I am just so very happy that he is loving and imitating and playing and communicating and learning and reading and choosing and colouring. 

 

5 Responses to “He Read, He Chose, He Coloured”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Wow that’s amazing! Well done Jay! It looks like he is on a level with his peers if he was able to do the homework? This is exactly the kind of exercise Laila does at school (in france), nothing harder than that.

    • Thanks for sharing the excitement 🙂 He usually needs a lot of help. Most of the time he doesn’t even want to sit and attempt homework. I was shocked that he could do this assignment.

  2. Neil N Says:

    Hooray for “small” victories that are actually completely huge! This is awesome. Congratulations — you should be very proud. Celebrate this achievement!

  3. Lisa Says:

    Love! Sounds like a great weekend…and some progress, which is always awesome and not so little. Hope the re-eval goes well!

  4. solodialogue Says:

    You write just beautifully. I love the kisses and the colors, but mostly the kisses. 🙂


Leave a Reply

