Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Happy Feb 1st February 1, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — The B Side @ 9:42 am
Tags: , ,

We have a morning routine.  I’m sure that’s not surprising to anyone.  I am a routine kinda gal – always have been to some extent – I was raised that way – and my kids thrive on routine. 

I woke up 10 minutes before my alarm went off this morning [not a part of the routine].  Here’s a tid-bit … I am a good sleeper and I am NOT by any means a morning person.  It is a rare occasion that I get up before I HAVE to. 

So, as I was saying … This morning I was laying awake 10 minutes before the radio came on when Jay appeared next to my bed [not, at all, a part of the routine].  He said one word. 

“HAPPY”

Then he just stood there looking at me.  I shook the cobwebs from my head and asked him if he was happy and he said yes.  I gave him a hug and told him good morning to which he replied.  “Good Morning Mummy” and walked out of the room. 

The rest of the morning went exactly the way it always does.   

I really don’t know why we broke routine this morning.  Even by that tiny fraction. 

I do know that the timing for it was great. 

 

What Jay didn’t know is that today my Grandma would have been 81.  I’ve written before about her.  She is still the most good person I’ve ever known.  I miss her an awful lot and more than almost anything, I wish if she had been around long enough to know my boys.  She would have loved them to pieces. 

I have a tendency to be sad every year on Feb 1st, but not this year.  This year I will follow my sons lead and be happy.

 

 

5 Responses to “Happy Feb 1st”

  1. therocchronicles Says:

    A wonderful way to start your day! Those unexpected moments stay with you and I’m sure that moment will carry you through your day today.

  2. solodialogue Says:

    I believe she must’ve been sending you the message to be happy! What a lovely disruption to the routine.

  3. Lisa Says:

    I think maybe she had a part in the break in routine…but how wonderful that was. I hope the rest of today brings you happiness.

  4. Michelle Says:

    I also wish she was here to see mine, Happy Birthday Grandma. Kids are the best medicine when you’re feeling sad! xxx

  5. Ann Kilter Says:

    Our kids thrived on routine, too. Most kids do, but especially kids with autism. Sometimes I think that kids with autism have a way of seeing things, observing things that others miss. My Mary has always been that way.


Leave a Reply

