life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

I Stalked My Own Son May 11, 2013

Filed under: Life on the Jay train — the jay train @ 10:22 am
Tags: , ,

It’s true.

I stalked my son yesterday.

 

Please tell me I’m not the only one who has done this – or something like it.

Please!

 

So here’s the story …

Usually, CC picks Jay up after school but he won’t be able to do it next week.  We have made arrangements to have someone from a local day care pick him up and keep him until I get off work.  We have used this day care for both kids before – but not in a long time and they are under new management.

I didn’t work yesterday so I could have picked Jay up but instead I asked the day care to pick him up.  I told them it was “just so we can make sure that it all goes smoothly and I will only be 2 minutes away (instead of 20-25 mins if I was at work) should they need me”.

 

At 2:30 when Jay was supposed to be getting picked up, I was lurking on the corner watching to see how the hand off from his teacher to the day care lady would go.

I was careful not to let any of them, especially Jay, see me.

Once Jay was hand in hand with the day care lady and they were walking down the block, I doubled back the other way and hung out behind a mail box.  There was one other intersection they would need to cross where I could observe from a distance.

Jay quite happily, walked with the day care lady and went inside their door.  And out of my sight.

 

That’s when I sighed with relief, called CC to tell him that I had mental problems and then went to get a pedicure.

 

One hour later I went to pick Jay up.  Before I actually went in, I spied on him through the fence.  I saw him looking happy and playing with another little boy outside.  Although I already knew the answer, I went in and asked the nice lady “So, how was it when you went to pick him up?

 

She told me how easy it was and what a pleasant afternoon they had had.

 

But I already knew that.  🙂

 

 

 

9 Responses to “I Stalked My Own Son”

  1. solodialogue Says:

    Haha! I love this! You are now trained d

    • solodialogue Says:

      Oops hit the wrong button on the phone! 😦
      I was going to say you are now trained for an alternate career! I have spied on my son while he’s in ABA in our office but have never done this kind of work!! You’re too funny!!

  2. Ha. I love it. I tried to think of a way to do this with my son when he was having trouble on the playground at recess, but by the time I could find a place far enough that I didn’t think the school would call the cops, I couldn’t see well enough to make him out and binoculars were just a little more than I was willing to do. The things we do 😉

  3. That is hilarious! I think we all do a bit of spying! When I go to pick up from school or wherever, it’s lovely to catch a glimpse of them before they see you. For my asd boy I always wanted to be sure he was being included in activities and not just left to play alone. He was! Love that you went & got a pedi too! Productive day:)!

  4. Since all went well, that sounds kind of fun!

  5. caffieneplease Says:

    Welcome to the club! I will park in the school’s parking lot and watch my son play during recess. I want to make sure his aide is with him on the playground, which is part of his iep.

  6. Michelle Says:

    I’ve done it, and then cried because my baby seemed just fine with his new childminder and wasn’t crying for me!!

  7. Andrea Says:

    Lolllll!!!!! U are hilarious Deenie. It wasn’t a bad thing to do but, how did u do the mailbox thing loll. U don’t have any mental problems u are just being a great mom. Glad you decided to get a pedi, must have been somewhat relaxing. This is very funny, really enjoyed this blog 🙂


Leave a Reply

