life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

$1 Pouch and Purple Juice May 14, 2013

Filed under: Life on the Jay train — the jay train @ 12:05 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Mothers Day 2013 has come and gone.  I didn’t get any flowers or candy or jewelry.  I didn’t get breakfast in bed or taken out to dinner.  In fact, I woke up to find that we were all out of coffee.  *The Horror!*

 

What woke me up was Ace jumping on me asking me if he could make his milk himself.  I said no and rolled over and tried to go back to sleep.  More sleep was not to be had though because the kid is persistent.

“For real mom, I can do it myself.  I’m big now.  I won’t spill it.  I promise.  Oh, and good morning Mom. Can I do it, pleeeaassseee?”

Despite his pleading I stuck with my original answer and dragged my butt out of bed and warmed up 2 cups of milk.  I knew it wouldn’t be long before kid # 2 was up.

 

We decided to go to McDonalds for breakfast.  I didn’t feel like cooking and we were all out of coffee.   Ace had his favourite breakfast of pancakes.  Jay looked out the window and yelled with glee every time a bird flew by.  I don’t need to tell you what I had.  Let’s just say it was hot and came with cream and sugar.

 

Later in the day we went to Target.  I loves me some Targae.  I go in planning to buy bread and come out an hour later with all sorts of goodies that I didn’t know I needed.  I found a cute make-up pouch (which I have been needing) in the $1 section right at the front door.  Boo yah!  We made our way up and down the aisles with Ace asking for every toy and candy and me touching all the clothes and throw pillows and saying “aww” at all the baby stuff.  Jay asked for “purple juice” which I found out means Grape flavoured Capri Sun.

 

We discovered a new park and play ground near our home that has a Merry Go Round.  Oh the excitement!

 

Ace taught me the meaning of the word spooktified.  It’s a real word.  Just ask Shaggy from Scooby Doo.

 

Ace told me he was hungry.  I suggested he take a bath and then we’d eat dinner.  He said “But what if I starve to death in there?”  It was hilarious.

 

Despite Ace’s impending starvation, the kids took an hour-long bath where they got water on everything but their bodies I think.  Whatever.  It was an hour of me not yelling at them to “stop the fighting” and I was able to update my Facebook status in peace.

 

I took a rack thingy of hooks that CC had hanging over his dresser and moved it to my side of the room and re-purposed it.  That means I organized all my chains and bangles on it and they are now on display in a place that will make them more likely to get worn.

 

Jay accidentally whacked me in the head with his umbrella and then said “Mummy hurt.  I’m sorry Mummy.”  Then he kissed it better.  Yeah, HUGE!!!  Are the experts still using “no empathy” as a sign of autism?  They really should stop.

 

Jay quietly sat and listened to multiple stories being read to him by his i-Pad.  Again … HUGE!!!

 

As I was stealing   putting to better use, CC’s hook rack, the movie Little Women was playing on the TV.  I’m not ashamed to say that I enjoyed watching it so much that at 8pm when it was done I watched the movie that came on next.  Anne of Green Gables.  I’m hoping that next week Sunday they show Polyanna and Heidi.

 
So that was my Mothers Day.  It was just another day but it was spent with my 2 lovies and it was just great!

 

2 Responses to “$1 Pouch and Purple Juice”

  1. Andrea Says:

    That was lovely. I can just imagine Ace and Jay getting water everywhere but on their bodies LLOOLLLLLL!!!!!! Glad u had a little time to reorganize and that u found a great bargain at Target. Hope ur head is better. Have a great day.

  2. […] repeating. At the park, they listened and they shared and they took turns. When we went to Target, (cause you always need things from Target), they walked beside me and never once did I have to yell at them to “stay with me” or to […]


Leave a Reply

