Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Driving Miss Daisy May 17, 2013

CC and I are 2 different types of drivers.  He’s more Fast and Furious and I am more Driving Miss Daisy.  It stresses me out to be in the passenger seat when he’s driving.  I’m always bracing for impact or *cough* asking him nicely to please tone it down while me and the children are with him.

I don’t understand the need to be leading the line of traffic.  I don’t blow my horn at people who I think are driving too slowly or who are taking too long to go after the light has changed to green.  If I’m behind someone who is waiting to make a left turn, I just wait until they go.  I don’t have to squeeze by them even if that means going up on the curb.  I don’t yell and curse and threaten to throw things at other drivers.  I’m not saying C does those things.  I’m just saying.  😉

 

The other day I was driving the 2 kids to the store and someone cut me off.  I slammed on my brakes and things in the car went flying.  I apologized to the boys and asked if they were ok.  Ace says “But Mom, why did you dooo that?  You yell at Dad all the time when he does that.”

 

The truth is that mine was justified and it wasn’t my fault.  When C slams on the brakes it could or could not be because HE has pulled up behind someone too quickly and then had to slam on the brakes so as not to run into the back of them.  Again, I’m not saying, I’m just saying.

 

I don’t want to tell my son that I think his Dad is too much of an aggressive driver so I did what any other respectable, mature adult would do.

I changed the topic.

Hey honey, look at that bright red fire truck.  Cool huh?

 

2 Responses to “Driving Miss Daisy”

  1. solodialogue Says:

    I do know what you’re saying! Sounds very familiar… Fire trucks are great topic changers, aren’t they? 😉

  2. Andrea Says:

    I am crying rite now from laughing too hard. I know exactly what u mean, my boo does the same thing everytime and i do yell “a little” sometimes. I’ll take Driving Miss Daisy any day over Fast and Furious 🙂


Leave a Reply

