Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Let’s Talk About Saturday October 21, 2013

–     Ace was out having a post-birthday celebration weekend with his Nanas.  (For any new readers, Nanas is not his nor anyone elses Grandma.  She is my cute, funny, loving, caring, always there for us, younger than me and I’m 36, friend.  The kids adore her and she them.)

–     Courtesy of Ace not being there and being loud, Jay slept in.

–     When he woke up, he immediately asked to play on the iPad and there he would stay for the next couple of hours.

–     Somewhere around 1pm, I decided there had been enough laziness and that Jay and I would go for a walk.

–     Jay happily changed his clothes and we headed out with no destination in mind and not caring about any time frames.

–     Our walk was perfect.

  • Jay picked grass and leaves and stopped to check out things that had fallen from trees.
  • When he wasn’t picking up grass or leaves or rocks, we held hands.
  • Jay marveled at Halloween decorations which you can’t really fully appreciate when you are driving by in your car.
  • He walked in-between the bars of peoples fences and stopped to say hello to anyone who was walking a dog.
  • We browsed inside a Rite Aid (pharmacy) and he got a bag of Skittles.
  • We practiced stopping at red lights and learning how to cross a street.
  • Every time Jay pointed out something to me – such as his reflection in a shiny wall or the fact that his hand was dirty from holding onto a railing – I stopped and talked about it.  I was not too busy or in any rush.  That felt good.
  • We passed a construction site and took the time to stand and watch the tractor do its thing.
  • On the way home, we purposely walked by a wall that has a mural of cats and dogs painted on it.  Jay loves that wall but only ever sees it as we are driving by.  This time we got to stop and really check it out.

–     We got home and went right back to being lazy.

–     We cuddled on the couch and we read a book about going on Safari and I begged for kisses at which Jay laughed and said “Shoo, get outta here, no kisses for Mummy” and then covered his head in a blanket.  Then he peeked out from under the blanket waiting for me to ask for more kisses so he could laugh and tell me no again.

–     It wasn’t the day I had planned to have.  I had wanted to take him out and do something special. Maybe something in the city.  Just a Mom and her boy.

–     The day may not have looked like anything special but the happy, relaxed, easy, no frills time with my boy certainly was and nothing in the city could have beat that.

 

 

7 Responses to “Let’s Talk About Saturday”

  1. Days like that ARE special. I love just such a day with my son. Wonderful.

  2. Neil Says:

    ” It wasn’t the day I had planned to have. I had wanted to take him out and do something special. ”

    Sounds like you did exactly that.

  3. Lisa Says:

    Sounds like a fantastic way to spend the day! ❤

  4. therocchronicles Says:

    That is a totally special day!

  5. Sounds like a pretty special day to me. Spending time together is all you need.

  6. Sounds like an absolutely perfect day to me!!! Glad you two got to enjoy each other!

  7. Deb Says:

    Thanks for the reminder to slow down and take a simple walk with my son!


Leave a Reply

