Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

An Update Of Sorts January 31, 2014

Filed under: ADHD,Autism,Family,Life on the Jay train,Special Needs Kids — The B Side @ 3:32 pm
Tags: , ,

It’s been one of those weeks.  Somma this, somma that.  No day has been all good or all bad.

 

I started feeling sick last Saturday and by Monday I was hardly able to function.  I dragged myself to the doctors office where I collected a prescription for antibiotics and a nose spray.  The antibiotics upset my tummy and the spray gave me nose bleeds.  And since it’s the last week of the month, there was no relief from work.  Things were as hectic as ever and I had to push through.  Not a lot of fun.  Thankfully, I did start to feel better by Wednesday.

 

With all that, the kids were pretty good.  They kind of let me get my rest and did as much on their own and for themselves as they could.  Ace kept offering me get well wishes and to get me juice and blankets.  He was so sweet.  Jay was Jay.  Picking him up from school has been a challenge every day this week because he keeps wanting to bring home his classrooms “birthday hat” and I haven’t let him.  He’s left the school building in tears each evening.  To his credit, the tears dried by the time we got home.  He entertained himself on his dry erase board and he hasn’t given me a hard time to do homework or when I said it was time to brush teeth and go to bed. Sometimes the best way you can help someone is by not making things more difficult.

 

~*~

 

I’m looking forward to the weekend.  I will get some well needed “girls hang-out” time and may even get my laundry folded for me.  (Hi Aunty Juddles 🙂 )

 

Ace is asking to play baseball in the Spring but I’m torn on whether or not to sign him up.  I don’t want to spend the money on something that I don’t think he will enjoy – and I don’t think he will enjoy it.  But I don’t want to shut him down either when he wants to try new things.

He’s funny and smart and feels proud of himself when he does well in school – And he has been doing well in school.  He told me the other day that he’s ready for the summer because he’s “not built for this cold.”

 

Jay is talking up a storm and sweet baby Jesus, it’s a blessing – except when it’s not.  He is very demanding and very bossy and very loud and has totally given up on using please and thank you.  I would never try to stifle his communication but I am definitely trying to work on his tone and his volume and his manners.

He’s funny and smart and feels proud of himself when he does well in school – And he has been doing well in school.  He asks every single day to go and play in the snow and refuses to wear a hat or zip his jacket up.

 

All in all, I have my hands full and there are moments when life feels overwhelming … but Every. Single. Day I laugh and my kids go to bed by 8:30 and that’s a beautiful thing.

 

 

 

One Response to “An Update Of Sorts”

  1. cathmae Says:

    Haha! I can completely identify. People with “typical” kids can never imagine the richness of our lives!


Leave a Reply

