Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Reading, Glorious Reading April 2, 2014

Here’s the thing about Jay. Well, not THE thing. One thing.
He is stubborn and he thinks he knows a lot more than he actually does and he will not back down and once he has his mind made up, the chances of you changing it or convincing him that he is wrong are slim to not a chance in hell.
It’s a good thing and a bad thing depending on how you view it. Sometimes I put my foot down and try to show him (teach him) where he’s wrong about something, but sometimes it’s easier to just agree with him and say yes Jay, that factory tower in the distance spewing pollution into our air IS a rocket.

 

Last night, after Ace and I had just finished reading a story, Jay came with his own book that he wanted us to read together. It was a giant 130 page book of animals and animal facts. *Yawn* I mean, obviously I was happy to read with my boy, so yay for that, but I’m just not really a “read about animals” kinda girl. Know what I mean? Oh well, we snuggled in and began reading The Complete Guide To Animals. It’s a book that he chose himself at a book fair.

animals book

 

We started by looking at the pictures and talking about what the animals were doing in each picture. Then we would read a line or two of official facts and then we’d move on to the next page.
At page 74, Jay saw what he thought was a bird. I told him that it was in fact a penguin. He was adamant. “No mom. Is bird. Look, da hair.” I pointed to the words in the book; These brown, fluffy, penguin chicks, look very much like their parents, and read them to him. He then re-read them himself and was able to come to the realization that these hairy, bird looking creatures were actually penguins. He loudly said “Oh, you wight. Is penguins.” He was so excited to have learned something new.  Then we moved on to the next page.

king-penguin-chick

 

This happened a couple more times and I was thrilled with the entire experience. It was all great. So great that I didn’t mind going through all 130 pages and putting him to bed 10 minutes late. I even learned a thing or two about Mandrills and Tasmanian Devils.  I had no idea that Tasmanian Devils were marsupials.  I guess animals aren’t sooo bad. Well, except eels. Those things are just plain ugly and they make my skin crawl.

eel

 

One Response to “Reading, Glorious Reading”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Eels are pretty creepy. 🙂 Sounds like a great reading experience!!!


Leave a Reply

