Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Spring Fever April 14, 2014

I had a post written and ready to go last week; but I never did hit publish. It was a post containing words like TERRIBLE, BAD, HARD, ATTITUDE, YELL.

I didn’t publish it because there was no real purpose to it other than for me to let off some steam. Tonight, I deleted the entire thing. Yes, we have tough days. No, I don’t sugar coat my life on this here blog.  There are days with yelling and days when bad attitudes abound. But there are weekends like the one we just had. Weekends where the boys are the sweetest, most delightful, happy creatures ever. Weekends that I wish I could hit a button and repeat over and over again.  And right now, that’s what I want to focus on.

 

The weather, thankfully, was beautiful. The best we’ve seen in about 6 or 7 months.   It had been a long, LONG, cold and snowy winter. Finally, the boys were able to go out and have a picnic with their mom and scoot with their dad and fire off balloon rockets with each other.

Picture 272-2 Picture 260 Picture 262

 

Picture 269 Picture 270 Picture 264

 

Picture 266 Picture 267 Picture 265

 

Following Saturdays success, we ventured out again on Sunday.  First to Target and then to a different park.

Did I say already that the kids behaved beautifully? Well, even if I did, it bears repeating. At the park, they listened and they shared and they took turns. When we went to Target, (cause you always need things from Target), they walked beside me and never once did I have to yell at them to “stay with me” or to “put that down”.  In the car I had told them what we were going there for and once we got inside, there was no begging for toys or candy. When I made a pit-stop at the beauty section, Ace did remind me that we hadn’t gone there for that but that it was ok, I could look around if I wanted to. *insert look of shock and joy*. I ended up getting a new nail polish 🙂

Picture 280 Picture 274 Picture 276 Picture 278

 

When we were done with shopping and the park we went home where my kids entertained themselves with some old toys they haven’t played with in a long time. They were so quiet that I actually took a nap. When I woke up, they were still playing with their trains but instead of being in their regular clothes, they were now in super hero costumes.

Picture 284 Picture 283

 

Dinner, bath and bed time went just as smoothly and mama was in bed by 9pm, reading a book. The Quickie by James Patterson. I’m about 1/3 of the way through now and I’m loving it.

 

Oh Spring and Summer, please, keep the good vibes going. It seems you bring out the best in us.

 

4 Responses to “Spring Fever”

  1. Lisa Says:

    It looks like it was a great day!! I love their smiling faces. 🙂

  2. Michelle Says:

    Hey. I see what Ace means, you do have too many shoes!!! I love weekends like that, thank you for sharing!! xxx

  3. Cyn Says:

    love all the pics!!! I know what you mean about the long cold snowy winter and how nice it is to finally have spring. That being said old man winter is flirting with us tomorrow. I like how you ended up wanting to celebrate a wonderful weekend with your boys and hug it tight. I want to vent too but I admit I’ve kept it in the draft column or just kept it private so I could get it out there so to speak 🙂


Leave a Reply

