Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Eating June 10, 2014

April 28, 2011 – Jay recently (about 3 wks ago) just stopped eating.  His diet now solely consists of eggs, pancakes, raisins, cheese doodles, skittles(or starburst or dum dums) and an occasional banana … There’s just no getting him to eat.  We tried not giving him anything all day and then trying with rice in the evening and still he wouldn’t.  He just holds it in his mouth and then eventually spits it out. …

 

Dec 14, 2011 – We also talked with the evaluator about our concerns over his eating.  Or NOT eating.  It has become a real issue … my child will only ingest cheese doodles (his favourite), pretzels (sometimes), raisins, cereal bars (Kellogg’s brand) and Rainbow Trix cereal.  Oh and now candy canes.  I’m not kidding.  That’s it.

 

Feb 12, 2012 – … He eats a grand total of 6 things … He eats NO veggies or fruits.  If you don’t consider McDonalds chicken nuggets to be real meat, then he doesn’t eat any meat either.  No rice.  No potato.  Not even cake, ice-cream or cookies.  You get the picture … If left to his own devices, he would eat cheese doodles for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack.

 

Jan 15, 2013 – Jay is not a lover of ANY food except cereal bars, eggs and chicken flavoured Ramen noodles.  When I say he is not a lover, what I mean is that he is a DESPISER … I just don’t get it.  I want to get it.  Why is eating and food such an issue for him?  Is it the smell?  Is it just the look?  It can’t be the taste or texture because he’s never tried to eat most food items.

 

April 16, 2013 – if it were up to him he would eat junk food and candy all day but we try to at least get one proper meal in him every day. And by proper I mean, Ramen noodles or a beef patty or even a couple slices of raisin bread.

 

Oct 16, 2013 – … he’s living on Cereal Bars and Ramen Noodles.

 

May 30, 2014 – My Facebook status – According to *Jay he ate a carrot today. His exact words were … “Mummy, I’m ate that the carrot. I’m ate the carrot at school.” I don’t know what he means by that but I’m pretty sure it does NOT mean that he ate a carrot at school today.

 

*****

 

During Jay’s IEP meeting last week I asked his teacher about the carrot. She confirmed that he had in fact taken one bite of a carrot. And he chewed it. And he swallowed it. This is major news. I was totally shocked and excited with that revelation. It was just one bite but it was a carrot and HE ATE IT!!!

 

 

*Last Week* – June 3, 2014, I wrote – The only thing Jay sticks to his cautious ways with is trying new foods. He’s not eating a hot dog no matter how good Ace says it tastes.

 

And then this happened.

 

Jay Hotdog 1  Jay Hotdog 2

 

 

He ate an entire half of a hot dog. I know he must’ve thought that I had bumped my head but I couldn’t stop taking pictures of it. There are 12 pictures in all. 12 pictures to capture Jay taking bites out of his 1st hot dog ever. The very same thing that just last week I said he would not do.

 

We have long been battling with Jay’s picky eating. A couple of things have come and gone but he’s been pretty consistent with only having about 5 or 6 things at any one time that he will eat. And it’s pretty consistent that at least 4 out of that 5 or 6 are junk. It’s been such a worry for me that at one time I tried getting him into a clinic for children with eating issues/disorders. That didn’t work out.

 

It’s official, I am taking a step back from worrying about his eating. I will always make sure he has healthy options available and I will keep offering new things to him but I won’t let it stress me out anymore. He will do what is right for him in the timing that is right for him.  He’s healthy and growing and learning and proving me wrong on a regular basis.  Somehow, his eating habits are working for him.  He will – if/when he’s ready – try new things and that’s enough for me.

 

5 Responses to “Eating”

  1. This is awesome!! My son Cooper’s diet is getting worse by the week. This gives me hope!

  2. It is a torture! My boy has virtually no connection between his brain & the way his body feels. He has no idea if he’s hungry or thirsty. Etc. I also went to a feeding/eating clinic. But we are on HIS schedule. Here’s my advice (even though you haven’t asked for it 🙂 stop worrying. Keep presenting good food. Keep putting him situations where other kids are modelling good eating behaviour, use the things he does like as a starting point. Like pancakes – mash up a banana & put that in the mix. I used to put everything in his pancakes – puréed pumpkin or cauliflower, apple, rice – whatever. So long as it had maple syrup on it, he would eat it. He’s still skinny but he’s so much more solid now – I owe it all to pancakes & French toast!!

    • Advice and suggestions are always welcome 🙂 … I would def try to hide healthy things in the foods he eats but the things he started to eat were hard to hide things in. He gave up on pancakes and eggs etc and had gotten to the point where he was only eating dry foods like cereal and Nutri-Grain bars. Tough to hide veggies in there. Luckily he does like Pediasure so I give him that and also he takes vitamins with no problem.

      I think we are starting to make some progress though because last night he ate several slices of pizza … YAY!!!!!


Leave a Reply

