life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

Beach Bums and Such August 15, 2014

Filed under: ADHD,Autism,Life on the Jay train,Special Needs Kids — the jay train @ 1:38 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

For 2 years in a row, I’ve taken my boys to my company’s annual summer event – held at a beach – and I’ve been a nervous wreck leading up to it wondering how they would behave – and for 2 years in a row it’s been awesome!

First let me just say that our awesome day this year would not have been possible without our Nanas.  (How many times and ways can I say that she’s wonderful and that we’re lucky to have her love us?  There isn’t enough time and there aren’t enough ways.)

We showed up at the beach around 3:30pm and the boys were ready to jump right in.  They LOVE the beach.  Nanas and I hung out on the sand and the rocks talking and watching them and taking pictures.  It was hilarious watching them get knocked over by the waves time and again.  They stayed in the water for about 2 hours.

Following the waves fun, it was time to make our way to the tent that had been set up for me, my co-workers and our families.

Jay kept pretty close to me at first while Ace – of course – was off and running with the other boys there.  He made fast work of re-grouping with the same boys he had spent most of his time with last year.  At first, Jay wanted to play with them but he didn’t want to leave my side.  I felt a little bad for him but eventually he got more and more comfortable with the idea of not being physically attached to me and he ended up building sand castles and looking at the bon fire and roasting marshmallows right along with everyone else.  He even took a bite of a marshmallow.  And swallowed it.  It was just one bite but he took it.  He never ceases to amaze me.  It’s such a huge deal when he tries something new.

The next thing I knew it was 9pm and I hadn’t had to yell at or chastise anyone all day.  My 2 boys spent HOURS playing and being happy and not misbehaving in any way.

When I said it was time to go, Ace gave me the pouty face and asked to stay longer but that only lasted about 5 minutes.  Without any further fuss, we were walking back to the car and driving home.

…..

I guess the beach day wiped them out because the following day was the quietest day we’ve had in a long time.  The 3 of us just hung out at home and watched TV and were lazy (in a good way).  On the Sunday, the boys were off having fun with their Dad and cousins so I got alone time to go grocery shopping and to return something to Kohls and to stop for an iced coffee.  I cleaned out my car and did some clothes organizing and watched multiple episodes of my new favourite show on Netflix – The Tudors.

…..

No day is perfect – No weekend is perfect – No life is perfect – But there was so much good in that weekend and there were plenty of perfect moments.

There was the happiness of my sons.  There was the company of good friends.  There was the joy of driving with no passengers in the back seat and having the sun be out and the windows down and the music turned way up.  For a while there was a quiet home and there was a clean bathroom and there were no empty cups or snack wrappers on my couch.

Next year when it’s company-summer-event time again, I won’t be nervous going into it at all.  I’m actually already looking forward to it.  “It” being the fun beach day and the quiet lazy day after.

.

***(You can read about last year’s outing here.)

 

Leave a Reply

