life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

Fall Time Fun October 21, 2014

Last weekend we drove down to Pennsylvania and along with my friend Angel, her brother, sister-in-law, niece and nephew we spent the afternoon at a farm.  We picked apples and browsed through LOTS of pumpkins and gourds.  There were so many different kinds of pumpkins – many I had never seen before.  They were actually quite beautiful.  And some were even funny if you have a dirty mind. 😉

 

We went on a hay ride that took us to a witch’s house.  Once there, we were treated to cookies and a story and a few jokes.

 

Knock knock

Who’s there?

Owls

Owls who?

Yes they do

🙂

 

We roasted marshmallows at a bonfire – a first for Angel.  We got free and super delicious apple cider which of course prompted us to buy some on our way out.  Good job giving out free samples farm people.  Good job.

 

We marveled at pumpkins that had been carved by really talented artists and we browsed the store which had all sorts of yummy goodies and autumn themed decorations etc.  I ended up buying boysenberry jam which I love and have never seen in a regular store.  Angel got fig and ginger jam which I meant to taste before leaving but I forgot.  Damn me.

 

When all was said and done we were there till closing time and had been there for over 5 hours and the kids were still not ready to leave.  There was actually a good bit of stuff that we never got to do.  We didn’t have time for the corn maze or to play apple toss or to get faces painted.  There’s always next year.

 

It’s hard to say what was the best part which is a good thing.  At each activity the kids told us how much fun they were having and how happy they were that we had gone there.  There was laughter and fun every step of the way.  Except maybe for when Angel had specially picked one type of apples that she loves only to have the boys throw them all out while playing.  Or when Jay lost his toy zebra.

 

We haven’t gotten around to carving any pumpkins this year and I know I will NOT get away with that so that’s definitely on the agenda for this coming weekend.

 

I really enjoy doing these kinds of things with the kids and even though they are growing up so fast, I hope that they will enjoy doing them with me for YEARS to come.  Ace told me last week that he’s too big now to hold my hand as we walk down the street.  I said ok and let go, but my heart was sad.  He also asked me to drop him off 2 blocks away from school so he can walk the rest of the way.  I said no to that one.

 

Knock knock

Who’s there?

Boo

Boo who?

Don’t cry, it’s just a joke

🙂

 

3 Responses to “Fall Time Fun”

  1. These are memories to treasure. Love the jokes. Autumn should not be underestimated as a great season.

  2. Sounds like a wonderful day! Growing up is tough. I remember how DC used to scream and cry each day when I dropped him at daycare to go to work. It went on forever. It broke my heart leaving him everyday. When he finally stopped crying when I left, I think I felt worse 🙂 – I know how you feel.

  3. Fun, fun, fun! My son is almost 12 and he keeps reminding me to not embarrass him at school (by hugging him or standing out in a crowd).


Leave a Reply

