Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Thankful December 3, 2014

It’s mind blowing to me that 3 yrs ago when I started blogging Jay couldn’t speak.   3 years ago we were wishing, hoping and praying for 1 word.  Any one would work.  We just wanted to know what his voice sounded like.  And when they started coming – one – at – a – time we celebrated each one.  It was HUGE.  When he would say “milk”, I’d all but break my neck tripping over myself to get him milk quickly.  When he said “out”, CC and I would all but break our necks with the speed with which we looked at each other to make sure the other one hadn’t missed it.

 

Last week was picture day at school and when he came home, Jay told me that he said cheese and that he stood up and put his hands in his pocket for the picture.  He said ALL OF THAT when I asked him how his day had been.

 

The other day, after he had spent some time pouting, he came to find me to tell me that I said no to him and he doesn’t like no and I shouldn’t tell him no because when he’s mad it’s not a good feeling at all.  He punctuated his speech with … “And that’s why.”  He said ALL OF THAT.  My son who took 4 years to call me Mummy.

 

He tells me when he doesn’t like the clothes I’ve picked out for him and will tell me what he would rather wear.  He lets me know what he wants to watch on TV and argues with his brother.  It sounds twisted but I love to hear them arguing in their room.  Last night I heard Ace telling him that he’s not fair and he always wants his own way and Jay responded by saying “I like it that way”.   He bosses people around and chastises the cat for eating our Christmas tree and he reads and he sings and he re-enacts TV shows and movies.  His current favourite movie is Pinocchio.  Robin Hood is a close second.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE it.

 

Ace is a sweetheart of a child.  Always has been.  He’s vibrant and loud and energetic and silly and whiny at times and a procrastinator and fidgety and bouncy and oh so LOVING.  Never before has there been a more loving child.  As a friend of mine put it, he doesn’t have a selfish heart.  She’s so right.  It does my heart good.

 

Recently I wasn’t feeling well and I let him know that and asked that he be extra good that evening.  He was incredible.  He took my temperature and offered to make me tea.   The kid knows me 🙂 .  He got mad at me when he saw me washing dishes and told me that I should be resting.  When there were commercial breaks on the show he was watching he came to see if I needed anything.

 

When he wrote his letter to Santa this year he asked for what he wanted and then he asked Jay what he wanted and included that in his letter.  Then he asked Santa to bring me something too.  Santa will not disappoint me 😉

 

This is the child who loves all things Christmas and Halloween and his birthday and Valentines Day and every other celebration you can think of.  The child who chose Christmas as his all time favourite because that’s the only one where everyone gets gifts not just him or not just kids.

 

I can’t write much about the Thanksgiving celebration this year.  The kids were with CC and I was back home in Jamaica. When most of America was eating turkey, I was at a table with my Aunt and her best friend eating just another dinner.  We said a prayer and I had chicken and rice and callaloo (spinach’s cousin).  We don’t do Thanksgiving in Jamaica but I did thanksgiving in my heart.

I was thankful to be able to be there with my Aunt (for what she thinks is the last time although I’m not convinced).  I was thankful for story sharing and love giving and smiles brought to girls who live in an orphanage and for the very best of friends/care givers and for good food that I rarely get to eat and for tanks for when the water gets locked off and for new puppies who bring healing to broken hearts.  I was thankful for bible verses and teasing and for good coffee and home-made marmalade and for new babies and for God children and middle children.  I was thankful for people who are thankful and humble and who work hard and who are doing the best they can with very little and staying positive.

I was thankful that I get to go home to my 2 boys who are blossoming so beautifully.  I was thankful that CC and I are not fighting or being nasty with each other in any way.  I was thankful for new friendships and long time friendships that are stronger than ever.

It was a bitter-sweet goodbye at the airport.  There were tears but the last thing we did was hug and laugh.  On Thanksgiving day, today and onward, I am thankful that in all the ways that matter I am rich.

 

2 Responses to “Thankful”

  1. Erin Says:

    This post is so full, it fills my heart with happiness for you. So many blessings. Just beautiful.

  2. Tamara Haynes-Rampasard Says:

    I love you! ALWAYS!


Leave a Reply

