life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

Goodbye 37 March 5, 2015

Filed under: ADHD,Autism,Family,Life on the Jay train,Special Needs Kids — the jay train @ 8:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

9pm – Thursday, March 5, 2015

.

Tonight I say goodbye to being 37.  A lot has happened since my last birthday.  I got divorced and I started seeing someone new.  Someone I love got diagnosed with cancer and my little sister got engaged.  Friends of mine got promoted and fired.  Friends and family members had babies and a close friend heart-breakingly lost a baby.  I got to see my Grand Aunt and plans to see other people I love fell through.  The kids … Oh my the kids … they have been a handful and amazing and they’ve had good stretches and moments when I felt totally lost and they’ve been cute and they’ve made me laugh so very much.  They’ve struggled with school work and then social studies ended and fractions clicked.  They have fought with each other and they have looked out for each other in beautiful, touching ways.  I made up with a friend that I had fallen out with a few years ago and littler sister and I had a falling out which we are now trying to mend.  We got cable back and we gave away our pet turtle.  I cut my hair and stopped straightening it and fell in love with my curls.  I feel stronger (not physically – that, I still need to work on).  I am more comfortable with who I am and I know I shouldn’t feel guilty for taking care of my own happiness.

.

It’s been a year of ups and downs; some of which I wrote about; most of which I didn’t.

.

Today it snowed.  The kids were off school and I took the day off work.  We lounged around and cleaned up and ate a big breakfast and watched TV and spent 2 hours outside sledding and playing in the snow.  It was awesome!!!  It was the perfect way to close this chapter.

.

I don’t usually get mushy about birthdays but I am really looking forward to what 38 has to offer.  I’m ready.  See ya tomorrow.  🙂

 

One Response to “Goodbye 37”

  1. Amy Says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! I hope this is your best year ever! 🙂


Leave a Reply

