life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

The Facts of Life July 14, 2015

Filed under: ADHD,Autism,Family,Life on the Jay train,Special Needs Kids — the jay train @ 11:59 am
Tags: , , , ,

We keep having moments that I think to myself “I need to remember to write about that” and then I watch another episode of Hot Wheelz or I pretend to be grossed out that a toy skunk sprayed me or we’re play fighting and falling off the bed.  Jay has said funny things.  Really funny things.  Ace has been a hilarious riot and a gentleman and knocked my socks off with mature comments and actions … All while still being his goofy, silly, exuberant, innocent self.  But for the life of me I can’t think of them now that I sit down to write.

.

I don’t know if this is a good thing or a bad thing.  I mean, I’d really love to keep all those moments alive in my internet vault but the reason I haven’t been able to is that so many good moments have been stumbling over each other and I get distracted by the next  thing that I really should put in my blog.

.

This summer has been good to us so far.

Jay is loving his summer program.  This is no simple statement.  This is the first time I’ve been able to say that.  If you recall (I’m sure most of you don’t, but that’s ok, I won’t hold it against you), he got kicked out of the last summer program we tried him in.  He’s been denied entry into many more.

Ace managed to get through 3rd grade without failing anything.  Who woulda thunk it.  He worked so hard and I’m so glad to see that it paid off.  He did all the optional extra credit.  He studied.  He tried different methods of studying.  You guys KNOW it wasn’t easy.  It made me feel incredibly happy to see him be proud of himself when the final report came in the mail.  6 A’s, 3 B/B+’s, 2 C+’s.

I’ve gone to a few events.  Reggae shows, a beach party (which could be its own post), my Jamaican High School’s New York alumni chapter fundraiser fish fry and comedy show.  Although I arrived late and there was no more food.  Oops.

Our camping trip is coming up soon – And this year will be bigger and better.  We have a total of 17 people going.  10 adults and 7 children.  That’s a big group.  But the more the merrier.  Or that’s what I keep telling myself. 🙂

.

Now of course it’s not all good.  It never is right?

I have an appointment coming up soon for Ace to see a developmental pediatrician.  We first went down this road about 3 years ago.  It didn’t make us feel comfortable then.  We’re trying a different doctor this time who comes highly recommended by someone I know.  I’m nervous about it.  But hopeful that she will be helpful.  But I’m nervous.  Yes, I know I said that twice.

There’s also been some sad news in my family.  But it may work out ok … We will see.  I will pray.  Hard.

.

Oh gosh, I didn’t intend to end on a sad note but that’s kind of where things went so I’ll say this since it was my Facebook status the other day and it’s so very true.

You take the good you take the bad you take them both and there you have the facts of life.

 

Leave a Reply

