Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

A Quill, Ink, SpongeBob and Legos – Weird Combination I know. August 25, 2015

Filed under: ADHD,Autism,Family,Life on the Jay train,Special Needs Kids — The B Side @ 10:28 am
Tags: , ,

Jay is so random.  I never know what he’s going to become interested in.  His latest fascination?  Feathers.  And quills.  And ink.

I have NO idea where that came from.  He just got up one day and asked me if I had ink because he’d like to write with a quill.  EVERY SINGLE DAY since then – about a month ago – he’s looked outside for a bird feather and EVERY SINGLE DAY he’s found at least one.  I have yet to purchase any writing ink even though he asks for it EVERY SINGLE DAY.

There are feathers all over my apartment.  I guess it could be worse.  They are less painful to step on than Legos.  But still … Really?  Feathers?

.

Anyhoo … I was in Virginia this past weekend and as I was strolling along Main Street in Ye Oldetowne Fredericksburg, I happened upon a store that sold quills and ink and a scroll with the Declaration of Independence printed on it.  I couldn’t NOT buy it.

I figured I’d hold onto it for a time when I really needed to get him to cooperate on something.  Not like a bribe or anything … Except, totally like a bribe.

I didn’t get to hold onto it for very long.

.

*~*

.

The other of Jays more recent loves is Sponge Bob Square Pants.  He watches Sponge Bob videos all the time.  Some of them are the actual show and some of them are personal videos that people make and put on youtube.  (Yes, I watch him VERY closely with those).  The sillier the videos, the better.  If there’s a clip where there is any reference to farting or pooping or burping; well then, he’s hit the jack pot.  Those videos leave him laughing hysterically.  Me, not so much.

Another anyhoo … The other day Ace had some money to spend and he (of course) decided it needed to be spent on Legos.  Jay then decided that he too needs Legos.  These things are not cheap people.

Anyone remember when I used to complain that Thomas the Tank Engine toys were expensive???  Well, I’d gladly go back to that.

With his mastery of Google, Jay has tracked down every single set of Sponge Bob themed Legos ever made and he wants them all.  Yeah.  ALL OF THEM.  I know he wants all of them because he tells me this EVERY SINGLE DAY.  Multiple times, EVERY SINGLE DAY.  He was not a happy camper when I dropped him off at Nanas yesterday because he needed to go to Toys R Us for Sponge Bob Legos.

*Sigh*

.

*~*

.

When I picked him up in the evening, he was still asking to go to Toys R Us.  Still begging and pleading for “many Sponge Bob Legos.”  Poor Nanas probably had to endure those requests ALL DAY.

In an effort to salvage my night, I told him that I had a surprise for him at home – and although it wasn’t Legos I thought he would like it.  That satisfied him enough for us to drive home in peace.

He offered to close his eyes when we got home so that I could surprise him in the right way.  He was all into it.  I had no idea my boy was such a fan of surprises.   It was cute.  When I held the quill set out and told him to open his eyes, you should have seen the look on his face.

JOY.

That’s what his face had written all over it.  He was so happy.  He hugged me and told me Thank You and then got to work writing on the back of the scroll.  He LOVED it.

I don’t know how long it will be before I have to hear about Sponge Bob again but I hope the scroll will keep him occupied for a while.

Even if it’s just a couple of days – That will definitely be worth the $12.95.

 

4 Responses to “A Quill, Ink, SpongeBob and Legos – Weird Combination I know.”

  1. I love it! The thing about writing with a quill pen, that is. Becoming obsessed with having to have something is so old in my house that it’s one of the things that drives me a bit bats. First it was Thomas trains, then other trains, then Hot Wheels, and other cars and trucks, then models and remote controlled things, and then games (xBox and xBox One). It’s always, he has to have it or he’s going to die. Of course the older he gets, the more expensive the toy. Yesterday he stood before me, crying about why he needed a $300 remote controlled tugboat (that is obviously marketed for adults, based on the price). He was a mess. I hate the obsessing.


Leave a Reply

