life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

Ready For Back To School April 9, 2016

I’m kind of jumping ahead and skipping a lot of things that have happened in the last couple of weeks.  I’ll get back to those at some point – I assume.

 

The kids start their new schools on Monday. I was kind of hoping they would finally be in the same school but no such luck.  It shouldn’t be that bad though because the main issue with them being in different schools back in New Jersey was that they were on different schedules and that made it difficult to make plans.  Now, both their schools run on the same schedule and are only 5 minutes away from each other.

 

I can already tell a difference in the way the schools (or school systems) operate here in Virginia (or at least the part of VA we are in.)  I don’t mean to make this a “Jersey City sucks and VA is awesome” post, but I will say that everyone we’ve come across here has tried to make the transition a smooth one.  The information has been forthcoming and they have done leg work on my behalf and they have returned phone calls when they said they would.  On Monday, for their first day, each kid will be met by their respective Vice Principal and new teacher and given a tour of their school.  In NJ, the first day of school (for Jay) was so chaotic.  It was a little unbelievable that that’s how they function.  I wrote about it at the time.  Just awful.  No-one seemed to know what was going on or where anyone should be or had answers to any of my questions.  We were just kind of thrown in the deep end and expected to swim.  If it hadn’t been for Jays teacher who always responded to my texts, I don’t know how we would have made it.

Here, each VP has taken it upon herself to set the boys up with transportation and Jays VP scheduled his first IEP meeting for Tuesday knowing that getting it done sooner than later was important.  The bus situation back in NJ was horrendous.  I won’t even go into detail about it.  All I’ll say is that I ended up making alternate arrangements for getting Jay to school after they threatened to call the authorities on me.  On ME!  A total non-trouble-maker.

 

As far as the kids go – As I type this, they are enjoying themselves in the pool.  A pool, is their all time favourite place to be.  We’ve had a fun couple of days in the VA Beach area.  Later, we’ll go to a movie, or a petting zoo or an indoor bouncy place.  We will let our moods and the weather decide.  They had a week of Spring Break then another week off while we moved and got things in place for school.

It’s been fun, but there have been a lot of changes also.  They are ready to get back into the swing of things.  Especially Jay.  He’s itching to start school and get back to a routine.

 

I’ll write again soon.  I’m ready to get back in that swing also.  I need my own sense of normalcy.

With love from a Mom who thinks this life of time off from work and lounging by the pool would be awesome if it wasn’t for the part about not getting a pay check.

I start my new job next week … I’m ready for that as well.  Or, I will be by next week.  For now, I’ll enjoy my last few days off.

 

2 Responses to “Ready For Back To School”

  1. NickyB. Says:

    Wow! Lots of changes for you all! So far it’s great to hear how things are going. Praying they have a great and smooth transition to the new school and that your new job is awesome!

  2. That is a lot of changes but it sounds like things are going well. Hoping and praying you love your new job and both the kids love their new schools!


Leave a Reply

