life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

Competitive Me August 15, 2016

Filed under: Family — the jay train @ 3:05 pm
Tags: , ,

Mentally, I’m pretty chill in general.  Laid back.  Easy-going.  All that.

Until I’m thrown into a situation where I can either win or lose.  I like to win.  Usually it’s with something physical – Not chess or anything brain related.  I know my limits.  Plus, I’m just more entertained by activities that are technically exercise but are disguised as fun.  (Not Zumba!  Ugh!)

I’m not strong (mostly because I don’t like the dreariness of working out).  I’m not big (I’ll chalk that up to genetics) – But I am agile and have an adventurous spirit.  Things like zip-ling, rope obstacle courses and white water rafting all have my name written on them.

It’s a shame really, that I haven’t channeled that spirit into becoming really good at something.  Tennis.  Diving.  Gymnastics.  I could’ve been an Olympian or at least gotten a college scholarship.

 

At our recent camping trip, we did an impromptu limbo contest.  I started off as a spectator.  I was enjoying watching the kids do their thing.  Then one adult after another decided to try their hand, err, back, at limbo so I had to throw my hat in the ring.  I ended up winning.  Just sayin’

 

Shaunie and I decided to go mini-golfing the other day.  We played the first round without keeping score.  We were just having fun.  I don’t know for SURE who won or lost although my ball ended up in the bushes and in the water and rolled all the way back to the starting point on several occasions.  But who cared?  Then we decided to play another round – This time keeping score.  I buckled down and with a couple of birdies and mostly pars I pulled out a win.  Boo yah!  I mean, it was just nice being out and about and having some good, clean fun.

 

My arms are feeling a little jello-ey today as a result of the rock climbing adventure that we went on.  We spent some time learning how to harness ourselves and how to tie double figure 8 knots and how to “belay in”.  Then we were let loose to tackle the wall or walls of our choosing.   At first we tried a fairly simple wall.  Everyone in our group did it.  Then I wanted to try a harder wall; One with an angle or a ledge that we had to go over.  I made it over the first little ledge but then failed to go over the 2nd ledge.  I felt good about my efforts though and was ready to go again.  One man that was in our group said he’d try the same wall I had just failed on, and even though he made it to the top, I don’t give him any credit because he chose an easy route that didn’t have any ledges.  Next I decided to try an even harder wall and although I wanted to quit a couple of times and Shaunie had to push me to keep going, I was so proud of myself for making it to the top.  Believe me, I was happy too to let go and be lowered down.  The same man who had tried my previous wall decided to try this one also and quit half way up.  I yelled to him that he shouldn’t give up but he didn’t listen to me and asked to be let down.  We weren’t in competition with each other but I’d be lying if I said there wasn’t a big part of me that felt extra proud of myself when he didn’t complete it.  In my mind I had won.

 

Now if I can just find a way to turn this competitive streak I have into something worthwhile then I’d really be in business.

Alas, following all that hard working out at the rock wall gym, we went out to eat where I had a delicious high calorie alcoholic drink, bread, an appetizer, a main course AND dessert.

Oh, and I’m chowing down on a bag of skittles as I type this all while dreaming about my bed.  I think the Olympics are out for me.

 

4 Responses to “Competitive Me”

  1. Cyn K Says:

    I appreciate that you confessed to the Skittles.
    Nice job on the climbing. I’ve never been and wonder how my flabby arms would do.

    • I’d recommend trying it – even if just once. They have all different walls of differing difficulty levels. And no-one is judgy if you can’t make it all the way up. There were people there of all different ages (like 5 to 75) and fitness levels. We got a great price for our lesson on either groupon or living social (can’t remember which) but see if you can find a deal online at least for your first time. 🙂

  2. Catherine Says:

    I’ve never tried rock climbing even though I always wanted to.

    • I’m copy/pasting what I wrote to the last commenter in case you didn’t see it 🙂 …

      I’d recommend trying it – even if just once. They have all different walls of differing difficulty levels. And no-one is judgy if you can’t make it all the way up. There were people there of all different ages (like 5 to 75) and fitness levels. We got a great price for our lesson on either groupon or living social (can’t remember which) but see if you can find a deal online at least for your first time. 🙂


Leave a Reply

