life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

70 Damn Percent August 24, 2016

 

That’s what I friggin get.

I came here and talked about how calm I am heading towards the start of the new school year.

Well, that calm has gone down the toilet.

The place the kids used to go before and after school raised their prices by 70%.  Yeah.  SEVENTY damn percent.  We can no longer afford it.  I mean, we could afford it but then we’d be homeless, so personally, I don’t think that’s a good option.

 

So now, with less than 2 weeks left before the start of the new school year we are scrambling to find an appropriate child care provider.

 

There are logistics issues.

The former place had opening and closing times that were very convenient for us.  The options we have now [due to what we can afford] don’t open until later in the morning and they close earlier.  That means if I drop the kids off, I will not be able to get to work at my customary time – which is fine because I can change my hours and just stay later but then I will hit more traffic (I already hit A LOT) and I’m not sure I’ll get back to the facility in time to pick the boys up.

 

Yes I do have help from Shaunee so under normal circumstances we should be able to figure it out – But sometimes she travels for work – It could be for a week or a month at a time – so I need to be able to do drop offs and pick ups on my own if necessary.

 

Every time we have to find a new care giver for Jay it fills me with anxiety.  Even though he’s come a long way, he still needs help and accommodations.  Will they get frustrated with him when he doesn’t want to eat the snack they prepared?  On the days that he wants to, will they allow him to sit inside and draw pictures while everyone else is outside playing tag?  How will they treat him when he yells at another student for taking one of “his” toys?

Each and every time I take him somewhere new and leave him with new people, it’s in the back on my mind that they (whoever they are) will not be equipped to handle his needs.  Maybe they won’t want to “deal” with him.  Maybe they will try.  Maybe they will try really hard even but then call and ask that he be picked up; and not brought back.  THEN WHAT?

 

But the real sucky part about this for me – As the parent of an autistic boy – Is that the boys were happy there.  They were liked and well taken care of.  They were comfortable.  They had made friends.

We made a big change in April when we moved and my children – who like consistency and routine – had a lot of new things thrown at them.  They were marvelous through it all.  But I would really have liked to keep any additional changes to a minimum for a while.

Now, no matter where we decide to send them, they will have to get used to a new routine, new staff, new children, a new environment and culture.

They will be fine; they are amazing boys who have shown their ability to adjust is top notch.

This may turn out to be a great thing.  In time, they may be even happier and more liked and have even more friends.  The staff may be even sweeter to my Jay and more loving to my Ace.  But it still makes me so mad.

 

4 Responses to “70 Damn Percent”

  1. NickyB. Says:

    Wow! That is unbelievable. Do you have a YMCA near you? Or a school that had the YMCA on site! With them you pay on a sliding scale. I really hope something world out.

    • Hi Nicky … It seems that’s who we will be going with. It’s more than we were paying before, but less than the old place is now asking. At least the additional money brings us the additional benefit of the entire family being able to use the Y’s pool and gym. Thanks 🙂

  2. That is unreal!! I hope you find a place that you will love even more!


Leave a Reply

