life on the "j" train

Taking a "busy working mom with 2 special needs kids" life one moment at a time

Ace Update November 11, 2016

Filed under: Life on the Jay train,Special Needs Kids — the jay train @ 11:25 am
Tags: ,

 

How was your concert?

 

It was terrible.  I had so much stage freight.

 

But was it a little bit fun once you were up there?

 

NO!  I was in the front row on full display for everyone to see.

 

But you guys practiced a lot right?  And you weren’t up there alone.  So didn’t you feel any excitement?

 

NO!  Only stage freight.  When we practice there are only 3 or 4 people listening.  There were 600 people at the concert.  

Wait.  I did make 2 people cry.  But not in a sad way.  It was a happy crying reaction because they felt something from the songs.  Everybody didn’t cry.  But 2 did.  So that was good at least.

 

Well, that was your first show, so hopefully now that you got that one under your belt, you won’t feel quite as scared next month when you do your next show.  I’ll be there for that one.

 

Yeah, I think it will be alright.  

 

Just so you know, I’m really proud of you for taking on something that you were scared to do.

 

OK.  What’s for dinner?  

 

My boy, who apparently doesn’t like to be on display, joined his school chorus, practiced every week, donned the requisite khaki pants and red polo shirt and stood on a stage at his school and performed for Veterans and their families.

 

I am super proud of him.

 

Earlier in the day we had met with his teacher who told us what a good kid he is and how well he’s doing.  He’s a hard worker and he comes in with a positive attitude every day.  He picks up on new math skills easily.  He has friends.  He’s well-liked.  Of course there is room for improvement and she gave us some recommendations for books she thought he might enjoy so we can elevate his reading and comprehension skills.

 

Did I say I was proud of him?

 

On our way out of the school building we had a quick, friendly chat with his principal, who he has developed a relationship with courtesy of the Lego Robotics club.

 

Ace was nervous about the move here.  He was worried about having to make new friends and about not liking his new school as much as his previous one.  I am really glad that he is finding his way.

 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some work to finish and then I’m going home for the weekend.  I have a date to spruce up for .  OK, it’s just a movie so there won’t be much sprucing.  Also, Jay has requested some play time with me.  I am happy to oblige.  I’m gonna see if I can take a trip to a bookstore with Ace as well.  We have to up our book reading game.  No more settling for comics or Diary of a Wimpy Kid.  I’m open to suggestions if you have any.  He’s 10.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Ace Update”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Has he read any Roald Dahl? Or Harry Potter? Laila loves both of these. She’s just started Diary of a Wimpy kid too! However the American vocab is somewhat of a challenge!! Horrid Henry is funny too. Apparently David Walliams books are good, haven’t got any of those yet…

    • I am not familiar with David Williams. Gonna check it out. 🙂 He hasn’t read any of Roald Dahl yet, but they are on my list for him to try. Thanks!
      He has the first Harry potter book and has read the first 2 chapters so far. We’ll see how it goes. He read one Horrid Henry but didn’t seem too keen on reading any more of them.


Leave a Reply

