Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Questions January 22, 2012

Recently, there’s been a trend on “youtube” where people are making videos with  titles like “things Americans ask (different types of people)“.  I’ve watched the ones on what they ask Indians and West Indians.

I think it’s meant to show that Americans are rude, insensitive or ignorant.  If you want to see one of the videos click here.

In the videos some of the questions they (Americans) ask are:

What’s the deal with the dot on your forehead?”

Do you know Russell Peters? He’s a funny Indian.”

Do all your movies have singing and dancing?”

Sooo, do you guys live in huts?”

I have a friend from the islands, do you know him?”

Can you say something?  Say water. hahaha.”

 

I am a little surprised that in this day and age, some people would ask questions like those.  Some of them seem really silly.  Stupid even.  I’d think that by now, everyone knows that not all Caribbean Islanders know each other.  Some people are probably trying (and failing) to be funny but the sad truth is that some people don’t know, and if they don’t know, isn’t it better that they ask the questions so that people can educate them?  Instead of getting mad, I’ve always tried to answer questions like those as openly as possible.  I’ve personally been asked if all Jamaicans smoke weed and if I went to the beach everyday when I was growing up.  I’ve had people ask if they can touch my hair.  I’ve been laughed at for the way I pronounce things and then asked what language we speak in Jamaica.  (It’s English by the way).  1 co-worker of mine tried to convince me that Trinidad was in Africa. (It’s not)  The people who are trying to be outrageous or to ruffle your feathers will just feel dumb when they see that you are answering them seriously.

 

I’d like to think that all the people who I’ve had these kinds of conversations with are a little better of for it.  Either because they learned something or because they see how ridiculous they sound and don’t ask those questions again.  It’s kind of like shutting down someone who is teasing you by not getting offended by what they’re saying.  Suddenly it’s not so much fun to tease you anymore.  At least, that’s what I hope.

 

I work in a very diverse office and I am very interested in learning about other peoples cultures/religions/traditions.  I asked a Hindu co-worker to explain to me why they worship cows and I asked a Muslim co-worker what would he do if he was in a place where the only food available was non-Halal meat.  I wasn’t trying to be rude or insensitive.  I genuinely wanted to know and now I do.  I think in general, most people are happy to talk about their cultures and experiences if they think the curiosity is coming from a positive place.

 

I had written a post about a guy at Dunkin Donuts passing judgments on Jay and CC.  In it, I said that instead of giving us their opinions on our parenting skills, people should just keep their mouths shut.  My cousin Michelle said she’d rather they ask questions.  You know what?  I agree with her. Don’t keep your mouth shut.  Ask a question instead of making a wrong assumption.

I read a blog post by someone the other day and in it they listed questions that people should NOT ask of a Special Needs Mom.  I respect her view and I get why she feels the way she does but I am of a different opinion.  Questions, no matter how embarrassing or silly or invasive they may seem, open the door for dialogue and education.

I really believe that the more we share, the less scary and taboo things will be.  The more we learn, the less likely we are to jump to inaccurate conclusions.  So I welcome questions.  Ask away. I’ll answer.  Just keep in mind that I can’t speak for all Jamaicans or all Autism Moms or whatever else I am, I can only answer from my experience.

I didn’t start my blog for that reason but if opening up my life can help to spread knowledge and understanding then that’s a giant cherry on the top.  And please, don’t be offended when I ask you questions.  I just want to get to know you better.

 

3 Responses to “Questions”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Great post. “Cousin Michelle here! (I cringed reading my quote)! The most common question or statement I received in England when talking about my parents being Jamaican was: “but they aren’t black?” I like to think I have educated lots and lots of English people on this fact: Not all Jamaicans are black. It’s a small contribution to the world, but I hope I’ve helped!
    xxx

  2. I’ve been mulling this for a few days since I read it and what i can’t get out of my head is that I feel like there is a difference between the ignorance of not knowing where Trinidad is and someone asking you “if all Jamaicans smoke weed’. to me that is just offensive and does not deserve your kind response. I get that ultimately it’s best to diffuse all ignorance when you can but….. I don’t know. Honestly, I haven’t been confronted that often in public about my boys and when I have at this point i tend to walk away so the boys don’t see me lose my temper. But, I wonder a lot about what is best to model for them in these situations, certainly not anger, but I also don’t want them feeling like if someone is offensive they don’t have the right to walk away. I guess I am saying I don’t know the right answer, which is why I’ve been thinking about it for several days and have still come back with this jumbled mess of thoughts 🙂

    • Jumbled or not I do appreciate the comment. 🙂 It’s not an easy black or white issue at all. I’m just thinking that if I take the “act like ppl aren’t just being assholes” route then it’s better for my own peace of mind. No need for me to get worked up over other people’s ignorance. Everybody certainly needs to do what works for them though. I may change my stance on this as time goes by. I haven’t actually been hit with too many questions about the kids yet either.


Leave a comment